Jun 112013
Senators allied with President Benigno Aquino III’s Liberal Party (LP) were the “most tardy” during the 15th Congress.

A report on GMA News TV’s “Balitanghali” on Tuesday said based on the Senate Journal Service, the following senators had the most number of session where they failed to arrive in time for the roll call:

  • Serge Osmena III
  • Francis Pangilinan
  • Ralph Recto
  • Manny Villar
  • Alan Peter Cayetano

Pangilinan and Recto are LP members while Osmeña, an independent, is a known Aquino ally.

Villar and Cayetano are members of the Nacionalista Party, which allied itself with the LP for the 2013 midterm elections.

Meanwhile, Senate President Pro-Tempore and now acting Senate President Jinggoy Estrada and former majority leader Vicente Sotto were not only the most punctual senators, they also had a perfect attendance during the 15th Congress, or from July 26, 2010 to June 8, 2013.

Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago, meanwhile, had incurred the most number of absences due to her bone marrow condition. Marc Jayson Cayabyab/KBK, GMA News

 Leave a Reply