Jul 302016

MANILA, Philippines – Four delinquent power distributors were penalized for failure to submit required five-year plans to the Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC).

The four distribution utilities are First Bay Power Corporation Inc. (FBPC), Albay Electric Cooperative Inc. (ALECO), Abra Electric Cooperative Inc. (ABRECO) and Maguindanao Electric Cooperative Inc. (MAGELCO).

The four were ordered to pay P50,000 each for non-compliance, as provided for in Section 46 – Fines and Penalties of the Electric Power Industry Reform Act of 2001 (EPIRA).

“The ERC, under its investigation and enforcement function, will see to it that every stakeholder complies with all the relevant laws and directives issued by the ERC to promote and protect the long-term interests of the consumer,” ERC chairman Jose Vicente Salazar said.

Following a request from the Department of Energy (DOE), the power regulator conducted a thorough investigation and issued a Show Cause Order (SCO) to the companies for their failure to comply with the submission of their respective Distribution Development Plan (DDP).

But the ERC found no justifiable reason to absolve FBPC, ALECO, ABRECO and MAGELCO.

 Leave a Reply