Nov 202013

MANILA, Philippines – Globe Telecom expanded further its cellular service in Leyte and Samar provinces as the telecommunications company continues to prioritize restoration of cell sites in areas that are hardest hit by the typhoon.

Globe said mobile services are now available in the towns of Isabel and Palo in Leyte; Lavezares, Rosario, San Jose, San Roque and Lope de Vega  in Northern Samar; Hinunangan, Limasawa and Sogod in Southern Leyte;  San Sebastian and Pagsanghan in Western Samar and Culasi and Laua-an in Antique, Dumarao in Capiz and Daanbantayan in Cebu

“Optimization of cell sites by increasing transmission power has resulted in substantial expansion of its cellular coverage in typhoon-stricken areas,” noted Robert Tan, Globe Chief Technical adviser.

The telecommunications provider said it also expects to restore cellular service in Borongan, Eastern Samar anytime soon. “A major cell site facility in Borongan is essentially intact and that would give us good umbrella coverage once transmission alignment is completed,” Tan said.

Globe has also restored network coverage in Cebu, Bohol, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, Bohol, Iloilo, Aklan, Antique, Southern Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Guimaras and Siquijor.

In Leyte, municipalities with cellular coverage are as follows:  Bato, Hilongos, Hindang, Inopacan, Isabel, Kananga, Matag-ob, Matalom, Palompon, Palo, Santa Fe, Tabango and the cities of Baybay, Ormoc and Tacloban as well as the towns of Anahawan, Bontoc, Hinunangan, Hinundayan, Libagon, Lilo-an,  Limasawa, Macrohon, Malitbog, Padre Burgos,  Pintuyan, San Ricardo, Saint Bernard, San Francisco, San Juan, Silago, Sogod  and in Tomas Oppus in Southern Leyte.

Business ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

In Samar island, on the other hand, areas with cellular coverage include Calbayog City, Catbalogan City as well as the towns of Gandara, Hinabangan, Jiiabong, Pagsanghan, San Sebastian, Marabut, Motiong, Paranas, Pinabacdao, Pagsanghan , San Jorge, Santa Margarita, Santa Rita, San Sebastian, Tarangnan, Villareal and Zumarraga all in Western Samar as well as the municipalities of Bobon, Catarman, Catubig, Laoang, Lavezares,  Lope de Vega, Mondragon, Palapag, Pambujan, Rosario, San Jose, San Roque and Victoria, all in Northern Samar.

In Panay, areas with mobile services include the municipalities of Altavas, Banga, Ibajay, Kalibo, Lezo, Makato, Malay, Malinao, Numancia, Tangalan, Nabas and  New Washington in Aklan and the areas of Ivisan, Dumarao, Tapaz and Roxas City in Capiz as well as the towns of  Anini-y, Barbaza, Belison, Bugasong, Culasi, Hamtic, Laua-an Patnongon, San Jose, San Remigio, Sibalom, Tibiao and Tobias Fornier in Antique.

 Leave a Reply