Jan 162015

A TOTAL of 25 local government units in Davao Region have adopted the Business Permits and Licensing System (BPLS), according to the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI).

In Davao del Norte, five LGUs have switched to the new system – Asuncion, New Corella, Santo Tomas, Tagum City, and Talaingod.

In Davao del Sur 13 LGUs have switched — Digos City, Bansalan, Kiblawan, Magsaysay, Malalag, Matanao, Padada, Santa Cruz, Sulop, Don Marcelino, Jose Abad Santos, Malita, and Sarangani.

Four Davao Oriental LGUs — Boston, Caraga, Lupon, and Tarragona — adopted the BPLS and three in Compostela Valley — Mabini, Mawab, and New Bataan.

The BPLS is an initiative between DTI and the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) to improve the competitiveness and business climate of the LGUS by streamlining the process issuing business permits and licenses.

DTI-Davao officer-in-charge Maria Belenda Q. Ambi told Sun.Star Davao that under the BPLS, there is a unified form that needs only two signatories, and processing time has been reduced to 10 days or less for new business permit and not more than five days for business renewals.

The standards set in the BPLS are anchored on Republic Act No. 9485 or the Anti Red Tape Act of 2007.

In 2013, a total of 23 LGUs adopted the BPLS: Panabo City, Island Garden City of Samal, Dujali, Carmen, Kapalong, and San Isidro, Davao del Norte; Hagonoy, Davao del Sur; Davao City; San Isidro, Mati City, Governor Generoso, Banaybanay, Manay, Banganga, and Cateel, Davao Oriental; and Monkayo, Montevista, Nabunturan, Compostela, Laak, Maragusan, Maco, and Pantukan, Compostela Valley.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on January 17, 2015.

 Leave a Reply