Aug 142013

Aurora hardest hit by Labuyo

Aurora hardest hit by Labuyo. A stall is blown away by the strong winds brought by Typhoon Labuyo (Utor) in Baler, Aurora province on Monday, August 12. Ronald Leander

The death toll from Typhoon Labuyo (Utor) rose to eight even as four people remained missing as of Thursday morning, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council said.

In its 5 a.m. update, the NDRRMC identified the latest fatality as Ronald Borja, 27, from Sitio Amutan in Barangay Matawe in Dingalan, Aurora.

Borja died from drowning, the NDRRMC said.

At least seven were injured while four are still missing, it added.

Meanwhile, Quirino province and Dinalungan, Casiguran and Dilasag towns in Aurora were placed under a state of calamity.

The NDRRMC said Labuyo has so far affected 61,448 families or 281,686 people in 569 villages in 87 towns and five cities in 16 provinces.

Of the affected families, 151 families or 658 people are still staying in six evacuation centers.

Roads, bridges, communications

At least 31 roads—including 14 in Central Luzon and 15 in Cordillera—remained impassable due to floods or rockslides.

The NDRRMC also said six bridges, five in Central Luzon and one in Cagayan Valley, remained impassable. Bridges in Isabela, Quirino and Cagayan are now passable.

Zambales, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province and Baguio City are still having power outages, said NDRRMC.

However, communications remain cut off in Dipaculao, Dinalungan and Casiguran in Aurora.


At least 1,441 houses were destroyed while 10,649 were damaged.

The estimated damage to property remained at P932,338,895.66, including P209,911,300 in infrastructure and P722,425,595.66 in agriculture.


Still flooded as of 5 a.m. Thursday are three barangays in Carangalan in Nueva Ecija; one in Dinalupihan in Bataan; 15 in Masantol in Pampanga; and four in San Simon in Pampanga.

Also flooded are some parts of Macabebe, Pampanga and Sta. Cruz, Zambales. Floods in Candaba and Guagua in Pampanga have subsided.

State of calamity

Placed under a state of calamity are:

  • Candelaria, Zambales
  • Sta. Cruz, Zambales
  • Masinloc, Zambales
  • Quirino
  • Dinalungan, Casiguran and Dilasag in Aurora

—KG, GMA News

 Leave a Reply