Apr 042013
The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has released the official list of the nominees of party-list groups, political parties, sectoral organizations and coalitions that will participate in the May 13 elections. The list is posted on the poll body’s website.

There are 136 groups on the list, but only 123 will be part of the May 13 elections as the others have been earlier disqualified by the Comelec.

Some of the party-list groups also have two sets of nominees due to warring factions within the organization. The Comelec will decide on who will represent the party-list after it wins in the elections.

Among those with two sets of nominees were Ako Bicol, Adhikaing Tinataguyod ng Kooperativa, Anak Mindanao, Abakada Guro, Citizens’ Battle Against Corruption, Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines Inc, and Trade Union Congress Party.

In November last year, the poll body disqualified 12 party-lists whose nominees supposedly do not represent the sector they are claiming to represent.

The Comelec has also disqualified seven party-lists that have sitting representatives in the 15th Congress — Ang Galing Pinoy, whose representative is Mikey Arroyo, son of former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo; Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy; regional group Ako Bicol; APEC and 1-CARE, which claim to represent electricity consumers; and Aangat Tayo, representing urban poor, women, elderly and youth; and Kapatiran ng mga Nakulong na Walang Sala, which represents penal institutions and prisoners.

These groups, however, was able to get a status quo ante order from the Supreme Court.

Section 9 of Republic Act 7941 states that party-list nominees should be a bona fide member of the party or organization which he seeks to represent for at least 90 days preceding the day of the election.

Previously disqualified from taking part in next year’s polls are registered party-list groups Bantay, whose representative in the 14th Congress was suspect-at-large retired general Jovito Palparan; AGRI; AKMA-PTM; AKO AGILA; AKO BAHAY; PACYAW; PM MASDA; COFA; ARARO; KATUTUBO; OPO; Cocofed; AAMA; Bayani; Abang-Lingkod; AANI; A-IPRA; AME; Greenforce; Firm 24-K Association Inc.; ALIM; ALMA; Kaagapay; and SMART. All took part in the 2010 elections.  Amita Legaspi/KBK, GMA News

 Leave a Reply