Feb 212013

MANILA, Philippines – Broadcast giant GMA Network Inc. is spending P75 million to further expand its presence in Northern Mindanao with the establishment of an originating station in Cagayan de Oro.

GMA chairman and chief executive officer Felipe L. Gozon said in a statement that the company has so far established three originating stations in just eight months as part of efforts to beef up its presence in the provinces particularly in Mindanao.

“We are also exploring the possibility of constructing another TV relay facility to further expand the reach of GMA Northern Mindanao,” Gozon said.

He said the company is spending at least P75 million for its GMA Northern Mindanao expansion efforts that covers Cagayan de Oro, Bukidnon, Misamis Oriental and Occidental, Camiguin, parts of Southern Bohol, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Compostella Valley, North and South Catabato, Sultan Kudarat, Agusan del Norte and Sur, Surigao del Norte and Sur, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga del Norte

The amount covers the investment for GMA Northern Mindanao’s state of the art studio, technical operation center, satellite multi-link microwave system and electronic news gathering equipment.

Just last month, GMA completed the conglomeration of three TV relay facilities of its local channels namely: TV-5 Ozamiz, TV-4 Dipolog and TV-3 Pagadian with its Cagayan De Oro originating station enabling the rebroadcast of the Northern Mindanao programs to the areas that are presently reached by the relay stations.

Business ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

This brought the coverage of GMA Northern Mindanao to 1.4 million TV households making it the second widest coverage by a GMA station next to Mega Manila.

GMA Northern Mindanao is the third originating TV station launched by GMA Network in just eight months after the GMA Ilocos last June and GMA Bicol last August.

GMA Northern Mindanao joins GMA’s growing number of originating stations with the widest coverage areas inlcuding GMA Central and Eastern Visayas based in Cebu, GMA Southern Mindanao based in Davao City, GMA Western Visayas based in Iloilo and GMA Northern and Central Luzon based in Dagupan.

 Leave a Reply