Jul 172013

MANILA, Philippines – President Aquino has appointed former chairman of the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board Nelson Laluces as Deputy Director General of the Intellectual Property Office (IPO). 

Laluces replaced Andrew Michael Ong and will serve until Dec. 2017.

Laluces, 54, was appointed LTFRB chairman in Sept. 2010. He is also a lawyer by profession, and counts many members of Aquino’s Cabinet as classmates.

Presidential Spokesman Edwin Lacierda also announced the appointment of Rey Roderos as assistant director general of the National Security Council headed by director general Cesar Garcia Jr.

Roderos replaced Fernando Mesa and will serve until June 2016, when Aquino steps down.

Deputy presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte also announced several appointments, among them seven new commissioners of the National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP) for a term expiring on Feb. 20, 2016.

Business ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

The officials are Zenaida Brigida Pawid for Region I and the Cordilleras, Percy Brawner for Region II, Bayani Sumaoang for Region III and the rest of Luzon, Dionesia Banua for Island Groups including Mindoro, Palawan, Romblon, Panay and the rest of the Visayas.

Datu Cosme Lambayon for Northern and Western Mindanao, Leonor Oralde-Quintayo for Southern and Eastern Mindanao and Era Colmo España for Central Mindanao.

Aquino has also appointed Teresita Inciong as the executive director of the Early Childhood Care and Development Council.

He likewise named Ma. Gloria Abragan-Tango as acting Assistant Secretary of the Department of Labor and Employment. The appointment paper of Tango was also signed last July 12.

Aquino appointed Christopher Lawrence Arnuco as chairman and administrator of Zamboanga City Special Economic Zone Authority for a term expiring on January 17, 2014.

 Leave a Reply